Home

Towards the end of last year, a few friends decided to start a supper club on Sunday’s. We all live within a 10 minute walk of each other and we agreed that it should be a casual low stress dinner where we relax and catch up.  I liked the fact that a few Sundays out of the month, I wouldn’t have to make dinner so that was plus for me.

Beef Bourguignon

Beef Bourguignon served over mashed potatoes

When it was my turn to cook, I decided to serve beef bourguignon. It sounded daunting at first but really it’s just beef stew, a great winter meal. I had made it once before using a simplified version and I really liked the results.

I used beef chuck rather than a more expensive cut of beef.

Beef Chuck

Beef Chuck

Notice the marbling in the beef? You say fat, I say flavour! Just like steak.

Side Bacon

Side Bacon

After browning the beef, I cooked the bacon. I used side bacon because I like the flavour and regular bacon just gets lost in the stew once its done.

Toronto-20130210-00191

Some more ingredients used in the recipe. If you’ve made this before, you’ll see that i don’t have carrots (I prefer them raw) or celery (I can’t stand eating it). So yes, they are not in this meal. Less chopping for me!

Toronto-20130210-00192

Toronto-20130210-00193

All ingredients are browned.

Toronto-20130210-00200

Now we are ready to add the wine and broth. Traditionally, a red burgundy is used but there is not need to buy an expensive bottle. I went to the liquor store and this bottle of red wine was recommended. It was ok but you should choose something that is a bit fuller in body and flavour.

Toronto-20130210-00196

After all ingredients are added, you simmer for approximately 2 hours until the meat is tender.

Toronto-20130210-00206

The stew is now ready. You can serve this along side roasted potatoes or pasta. I chose to serve mine over mashed potatoes so I wouldn’t miss out on the delicious taste of the sauce.

Beef Bourguignon

3 pounds (12 oz) beef chuck (or stewing beef but check is preferred) cut in cubes
2 tbsp of olive oil
½ pound (8 oz) side bacon chopped
1 large onion sliced
3 gloves of garlic finely chopped
20 mushrooms cleaned and cut in half
2 ½ cups of red wine
2 cups of beef broth
1 tbsp of chopped fresh thyme
2 tbsp tomato paste
Salt and pepper

Coat meet in flour seasoned with salt and pepper
Heat oil and brown beef(in batches) then set aside
Add onions and garlic to the pan and sauté until softened
Deglaze pan and then return beef and bacon to the pan
Add mushrooms, wine beef broth, thyme and tomato paste
Bring to a boil then simmer for approximately 2 hours or until meat is tender. Remember to stir occasionally

Makes 6 – 8 servings

3 thoughts on “Sunday Supper: Beef Bourguignon

  1. Pingback: Thirsty Mike Cooks: Boeuf Bourguignon | Hungry Lindsay

  2. Dianne, I posted a comment a day or two ago but I don’t know where it disappeared to! I’d just like to say that the Sunday dinner tradition is one worth continuing (everyone within a 10 minute walk — how cool is that) and that beef bourguignon is the most delicious meal for a cold February night! Yummy!

    Ken

Leave a Reply

