Home

It’s the last week of Summerlicious in Toronto – the equivalent of Restaurant Week in other major cities – where restaurants offer 3-course prix fixe menus for lunch ($15/$20/$25) and dinner ($25/$35/$45).

I used it as a way to introduce myself to many great restaurants in the city like Centro, North 44, Lucien Restaurant,  and Auberge du Pommier. Because I enjoyed the meals so much, I went back on a regular night and added them to my list of places to dine out. But i think I was lucky because these restauarnts served items that were on their regular menu as part of the prix fixe.

In the past few years, I’ve found that some restaurants are serving items that are not on their regular menu but created just for Summerlicious.

But, I don’t blame them for that.

When Summerlicious started 10 years ago, it was a new and wonderful experience for the city. But now, I think it’s hard on restaurants with rising food costs and trying to plan a prix fixe at a certain price point that they usually don’t offer.

Common items I find on the menu are:

  •  Pasta or carrot/pumpkin soup – vegetarian option – would love to hear how vegetarians feel about this
  • Chicken/ Cornish hen – Umm…if I can make it in my own kitchen, I don’t order it when I dine out
  • Salmon – the chicken of fish but still a nice fish
  • Hanger/striploin/flatiron/flank steak (I’m a rib eye kind of gal but in a pinch it’s good)

If you don’t know already, I am lactose intolerant so seeing things like tiramisu, cheesecake, crème brule and ice cream leaves me out of enjoying dessert so it’s a fun challenge for me to look for something simple like cake on the menu.

This year, I decided to try lunch at Jump Restaurant. Surprisingly, this is the only resto of the Oliver & Bonacini chain that I have not tried.

Canadian Rock Crab & Corn Cake
daikon and summer beet slaw, lime and wild leek aioli

Grilled Thai Spiced Salmon

Grilled Thai Spiced Salmon
bean sprout, carrot, bok choy, red cabbage, coriander, nam prik dressing, Thai basil and yuzu mayo

Coconut Rum Cake
dulce di leche cream cheese icing and mango jam

I dined with my friend Sarah and I took a picture of the dessert that she had as well.

Passion Fruit Panna Cotta
Ontario wild blueberry sauce and Chantilly cream

At a $20 price point, this was a great deal and the right amount of food for lunch. I really liked the crab cake plus it did not have a ton a filler, the salmon was nice light choice and the rum cake was deliciously rummy (is that a word?)

Jump is worth the visit so hurry and make your reservation as Summerlicious ends on July 22. The service was nice and efficient and we made it back to work after an hour and fifteen minutes.

Leave a Reply

