Home

I’ve decided to develop a series of posts based on my blog from yesterday about My Favourite Things.

On that list would be Nota Bene Restaurant. My sister Nerrine and good friend Eadrey from Eadrey Foods took me there for a birthday lunch yesterday. To be honest, I had hoped to get a “sneak eat” of the lobster tacos and margarita special that they will be offering for July and August but alas not everything works out as planned.

I consoled myself with a kir royale. Whenever I drink this, I feel like a queen. This cocktail is made with champagne or sparkling wine and creme de cassis (a blackcurrant liqueur). I have to tell you that there are many restaurants that get this wrong. Its the ratio of champagne to cassis. The photo below shows you exactly what shade of rose it should be. This was a perfect start to lunch.

Kir Royale

Next we tried the Mozzarella di Bufala with Parma Ham. I am lactose intolerant so I avoid most cheeses but I thought what kind of food writer could I ever grow into if I don’t try everything?

Mozzarella di Bufalo

Mozzarella di Bufala with Parma Ham

This cheese was so light it was like butter melting in your mouth. I don’t know how else to describe it other than being delicious.

Our server’s name was Harry and I have to compliment him (and the restaurant) on their service. I love the fact that he served everyone one from our right side and there was no reaching over anyone or interrupting conversations as meals and drinks were being served. He also used a crumber that kept our table tidy as we kept munching on the bread.

For my main, my sister and I both ordered the Nova Scotia Lobster Salad. I’ve had this salad many times and it never disappoints me. The  big chunks of lobster, mixed with avocado, double smoked bacon and a light yet tasty buttermilk dressing. You can’t go wrong. It is usually served with blue cheese but I decide not order it this time.

Nova Scotia Lobster Salad
Avocado, Maple Bacon, Blue Cheese, Buttermilk Dressing

Eadrey had the Steak Frites with morrell mushrooms on the side and the Chef gave us the shoshito peppers to try.

Grass- Fed Steak Frites

Morell Mushrooms and Shoshito Chilies

I’ve never heard of Shoshito chiles before but they are Japanese in origin and have a mild heat to them. You can eat them almost like a snack if you wanted to.

For dessert, we finished off with the Sticky Toffee Pudding. This is a fantastic dessert! Or should I say amazing? Either way, I LOVED it! I didn’t have mine with ice cream but it’s still a winner.  It was my second time ordering this dessert and it tastes just as good as the first time.  It’s one of those desserts where you sacrifice and workout like crazy all week so you can say that you earned such a treat. I didn’t work out all week but it was my birthday so I deserved it!

Sticky Toffee Pudding with Pecan Praline, Spotted Dick Ice Cream

On my previous visits to Nota Bene, the great dishes I’ve had were the Yucatan hot and sour soup, the crisp duck salad, grilled seabass, troccoli pasta with lobster, pommes frites, sauted rapini and the lobster salad repeatedly. Last year during the film festival, I invited a group of friends here for dinner during their Perrier Jouet Champagne promotion. The restaurant was busy and had such a great vibe. There were seven of us for dinner, drinking champagne and consuming quite a few bottles of wine. The icing on the cake was that Terrence Howard was also dining at the restaurant. He is just as handsome in person and I loved the fact that he seemed quite easy going.

Nota Bene is a restaurant that offers many of my favourite things – a great place to go with family and friends, they have lobster, champagne, great customer service, they take reservations,  a great menu and the occasional wow factor as celebrities are known to dine here. Just imagine if they had a patio for the summer…

Leave a Reply

