Home

I’ve discovered a lunch spot that has healthy food I actually want to eat.

The iQ Food Co, located in the TD Centre Food court in the Financial District, is just over a year old. I know – it’s a food court but I think its worth checking out. There is usually a line up (I’ve been the 40th person in line!) but the wait is very short. The staff work like a well oiled machine when it comes to serving their customers. Their menu offers whole grains, lean protein, no refined carbohydrates and nothing is fried. With that in mind, you have to wonder if it tastes like cardboard.

The menu offers six salads, five hot boxes, five wraps and tomato and fennel soup. I was intrigued by the hot box and decided to choose the one they called Lima. They give you a choice of brown rice or quinoa (for a bit extra). The picture below shows you what I ordered. It usually is served with aged cheddar but I substituted goat cheese instead at no charge. They are very flexible with substitutions (so far).

Lima HotBox – Roasted Chicken, Goat Cheese, Avocado, Corn, Black Beans, Grape Tomatoes, Cilantro, Lime Wedge, Brown Rice and Chili Lime Sauce

This lunch is simply put together but delicious and filling. I actually feel good after I’ve finished eating and a bit energized. With tax, my meal was $10 even and weighed in at 785 calories. It’s definitely on my list as a quick lunch option unless you can show me an alternative that can do better.

Leave a Reply

