Home

Lobster is another one of those foods that makes me salivate just thinking about it. In the summer, I’m always on the hunt for a deal so I can make them at home. Not that I don’t enjoy going out but who’s made of money these days? This past weekend a local grocery store, Loblaws, was selling live or steamed lobsters for $5.99 per pound. Please note, that these are not large. They are between 1 pound and 1 and a half pounds at most. I’m not sure exactly where they are from either. All the flyer said was “Canadian hard shell lobster.” I was more focused on the fact that it was lobster for 5.99 a pound!

So, I scooped up 4 lobsters, some garlic bread, wine and salad and headed to my friend Patty’s to make her dinner. (There are perks for my friends. When I crave something, I will buy it and share.)

I admit that I am still nervous putting the lobsters into the pot. Its just the ones that start wildly flapping their tail back and forth as I’m sure they have an inkling that this the end for them. But it’s always a fleeting fear.

  • For steaming my lobster, I filled a pot with about two inches of water and some sea salt. The pot should have a cover.
  • As the water comes to a nice rolling boil, I placed the lobster in the pot and put the cover on.
  • Because of the small size of my lobster, I steamed it for 8 minutes
Steaming Lobster

Steaming Lobster

I’ve  heard people say that you hear the lobsters scream as they are being put in the pot. I’ve never heard a sound and I honestly hope I never do.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have one large pot so I did this a few times but the results were excellent! I steamed 4 lobsters and Patty and I each had two.This cost exactly $31.42. You can’t go wrong with that!

4 Steamed Lobsters

After wolfing down my succulent lobster dinner, I started to reminisce over by previous lobster meals. Scaramouche Restaurant is one of the top rated establishments in Toronto. In continues to maintain excellent food and service. Plus, it has one of the best views of the city. If you can snag a window seat, it’s definitely a great place to take a date or celebrate your anniversary but you’ll never disappointed in the food. Every February,  they have Lobsterlicious, a 3 course prix fixe lobster event. It is very popular and a great price for this level of restaurant. Pictured below is the poached lobster with fingerling potatoes that I thoroughly enjoyed!

Poached Lobster at Scaramouche

Poached Lobster at Scaramouche

My other memorable lobster meal was with my friend Ann. She invited a few of us to a Chinese restaurant in Richmond Hill called O Mei. They offer the largest live lobster and crab I’ve ever seen in a restaurant. We chose a 7.75 pound lobster to divide amongst the four of us.

Me holding a live lobster. It’s 7.75 pounds!!!

Once you inspect your lobster, they take it back into the kitchen and prepare it three different ways: sautéed with garlic, stir fried with onions and battered.. This turned out to be way too much food for the four of us. If you plan to go, you should definitely bring a group of at least 8 people. I like to eat but I couldn’t force anymore food in my mouth and it was yummy lobster.

I am still on hunt for great lobster dinners. If you know somewhere I should visit, let me know. Even if it’s your home.

Steamed Lobster with Garlic on Vermicelli Noodles.

Stir Fried Lobster with Onions.

Leave a Reply

