Home

I LOVE eating foie gras. Do you?

For you newbies, its the fattened liver of a duck or goose that is accomplished by force-feeding. Yes, you read that right. While it does sound cruel, the smooth, buttery texture tastes absolutely delicious.

My most recent foie experience was at Trevor Kitchen and Bar. My BF took me there for a Friday night dinner. Its located below ground and the lighting gives you a sense of it being quite cozy but I did find because it was so busy the restaurant had more of an energetic vibe that could make it a bit hard to hear. There is a great looking bar and lounge at the front but we were seated in the dining area.

I started with the truffled foie gras poutine.

Foie gras poutine

My BF ordered the seared foie gras with johnny cakes & preserved cherries.

Seared foie gras with johnny cakes & preserved cherries

I loved the fact that the poutine was made with goat cheese as its easier to digest for those of us who have lactose issues. You can’t go wrong with either choice, but the foie gras with johnny cakes & preserved cherries is an exceptional dish! All who know me, know I am “particular” aka pretty damn picky when it comes to my food. (But don’t be afraid to invite me over for dinner). The combined flavours in this dish were so good that I can taste them in my dreams. Lucky for me, I was able to steal a few forkfuls while still enjoying my poutine.

My main consisted of the lobster & prawn spaghettini. The shrimps were plump and that lobster was succulent. This was my second time ordering this dish because I love spaghettini.

Lobster & prawn spaghettini in cognac & chive sauce

Lobster & prawn spaghettini in cognac & chive sauce

My BF had the filet of beef tenderloin with horseradish crust, fingerling potatoes & double smoked bacon. A beautiful and tender cut of beef but I kept thinking it looked like a massive piece of foie gras.

Beef tenderloin

Beef tenderloin with horseradish crust, fingerling potatoes & double smoked bacon.

Do I have foie fixation?

We passed on dessert but they served us complimentary cotton candy. What a nice touch! This wasn’t my first visit to Trevor but it was the first time having foie gras there. It is definitely worth coming back for. Yum!

3 thoughts on “Foie Me Baby!

  1. everything sounds so good!! I have not yet had the pleasure of experiencing foie gras (which is odd since I have both worked and dined in upscale dining establishments), but I’ve heard many times it’s a must try!

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Things: What I love about George Restaurant « plan d blog

Leave a Reply

