Home

I recently had the opportunity to a entertain an international visitor for work last month. Due to the nature of my job, I don’t have visitors as I usually travel to meet people. My visitor was from Germany with a full agenda of other meetings for the week and I had the opportunity to take him out for lunch. Wanting to make a great impression personally and with our wonderful city, I chose Canoe based on recommendations from friends who regularly entertain clients.

I’ve had the pleasure of dining at other O & B establishments: Auberge du Pommier, Biff’s Bistro, Jump, Canteen, Luma and the Cafe on Yonge Street and in Blue Mountain and they are all very good but I will point out that Luma is one of my go to places for dinner and has a great lamb dish on the menu.

Canoe is located on the 54th floor of the Toronto Dominion Bank Tower in the financial district.  We were lucky enough to be seated right by the window and I have to say the view made us both pause for a moment to just gaze out. As we looked at our menus, our server was extremely helpful in giving us explanations of some of the dishes. To be honest, I did not know that the menu had dishes that promote Canadian cuisine like Ontario mozzarella, B.C. salmon and Nova Scotia sea bream.

For lunch I ordered foie gras as my appetizer and the lobster clubhouse (sans frommage) and my guest ordered the wild mushroom soup and the Canoe Classic Tourtiere.

Pan seared Quebec foie gras with locally grown plums, apricot jelly, peanuts, toasted brioche, sorbet.

There is only one picture because the purpose of the lunch was business but this dish looked so beautiful. This particular foie dish is on the dinner menu but they were kind enough to make it for me for lunch. I love seared foie that went perfectly with the plum and jelly. I did think it strange to add peanuts but that mixed nicely with all the flavours in this dish. I could have licked that plate!

The tourtiere (not pictured) is a traditional French Canadian meal. It’s a deep dish meat pie that can be made with pork or beef or wild game and is baked in a flaky crust.  The Canoe version was presented as a whole individual pie and is filled with pork, beef, venison and foie gras in a delicious looking crust. I think this is a must try dish on my next visit.

So did I wow my visitor?

The view was stunning (even for me a native of the city). The service here is perfect. It’s extremely professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating (for picky eaters like me) and the food delicious. And our one hour lunch was extended to just over two hours at his request.

Canoe Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

